The Chinatown Umbrella: New York

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After flying on standby (and fortuitously getting a spot in first class), I found myself, for the first time, looking at the exit signs in JFK. JFK has always been that brief stop on the way to somewhere else, but alas dear readers, JFK was finally my final destination. Sorta. Our final destination, to put it more accurately, was Chinatown. We had found a place on airbnb.com (I highly recommend this, by the way) that was ridiculously inexpensive for Manhattan. We were among smells of dried octopus, fish, hanging pork, and that standard city smell of damp asphalt, urine, and the bitter flavor of humidity. It was glorious. Spending time in an area like Chinatown nicely juxtaposed all the tourist and non-tourist spots we visited: the Strand Bookstore, Columbia University, Central Park, Times Square, the Natural History Museum, Ground Zero, Joe: the Art of Coffee, the Irish Hunger Memorial, Bubby’s, etc. I’m not trying to fetishize Chinatown here, but I must say, it was an experience staying there a few days. People barely knew English and consequently ordering food was always tricky, but often very rewarding. At one point it rained and we bought three umbrellas from one of the stands (see final picture), our $2.50 souvenirs. Our apartment also had a wonderful view–Empire State Building included–and since it was an apartment, we had the luxury of a kitchen, balcony, living room, etc.

Unfortunately only staying in Manhattan really limited my perspective of New York, but obviously I don’t mean to complain. Manhattan is still quite a lot. Not necessarily to handle or take in though…I have to stay New York was slightly underwhelming. I expected a rush of people at all times, overflowing metros, and a general sense of “this is the most famous city in America.” Instead, New York seemed like another metropolis. I won’t deny that I was a tourist after all, and naturally, living somewhere is quite different from visiting. However, the city didn’t quite bring my books to life in the way that St. Petersburg did. Perhaps it’s been too long since I read my NY texts and perhaps it’s really that life has changed so much since the last century (that’s obvious enough). Regardless, simply walking around, especially in Central Park, was lovely. The apartments by the park were exactly how I envisioned. Quaint and luxurious all at the same time. People jogging around the reservoir, walking dogs. And I could honestly see living somewhere in NY. It’s a place I’d like to get to know.

About melindanoack

Person, place, or thing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment